top of page

A unit of work on seven poems by John Keats:

  1. On First Looking Into Chapman's Homer
  2. When I have fears that I may cease to be
  3. Bright star, would I were stedfast as thou art
  4. Ode on a Grecian Urn
  5. Ode to a Nightingale
  6. To Autumn
  7. La Belle Dame sans Merci

This unit is suitable for senior students in Years 10-12. It introduces them to the forms Keats used, and seven of his most famous poems.

  • A research task with suggested reading and viewing gets students across Keats' life and influences.
  • 'What is analysis?' encourages them to think about exactly what literary analysis is, and how to go about it
  • Explanation of the sonnet, ode, and ballad forms
  • Explanation of Negative Capability
  • Foray into critical reading
  • Seven poems included with questions structured according to Bloom's taxonomy
  • Selection of senior-suitable essay questions

Unit of Work: Poetry of John Keats

    Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget
    bottom of page